I want to believe in more than you and me.

I should have been analyzing this relationship as it was happening. But I wanted to be real. I wanted to really put myself into a relationship, really give myself to someone. And I did. And now I don't know if it was the right thing to do.

What if this leaves me so broken that I can never be myself again? I don't even mean if the relationship ends, because even when we're happy, which is most of the time, I feel lost. I avoided too much thought and too much analyzation, because I wanted this. Looking back, I can't believe I've spent 3 & 1/2 years working on this.

I've never worked on anything. I've never actually worked on a relationship. I've never fought to keep something together, fought to keep something functioning. I've never built a life and a home with someone. So I have no comparison. I have no way of knowing if I'm on the right track.

How much effort is necessary and normal? How much incompatibility can be overcome without sacrificing yourself?

I just need some guidelines.

Before and After

Index - Older - Profile - Notes - Diaryland

[I believe in a thing called love]