Because I know love alone is not enough.

He said he understands why sometimes I worry that he doesn�t love me like he used to, like he doesn�t get excited by my existence like he did four years ago.

He said, �It�s different living together. You don�t see me when I think about you during the day and smile, or when I wake up in the morning and am so happy we�re together. By the time you get home from work, I�ve already, you know-�

�Been yelling at the TV for 2 hours?� I suggested. He laughed and said, �Yes, yelling at the TV.�

I said, �But isn�t that exactly what we�re supposed to work on?�

He said, �There�s nothing to work on! We�re great together.�

I said, �But this is what happens. People are together for awhile and then they take each other for granted and forget to put effort into things and remember to be excited about each other.�

He said, �I don�t think either of us are doing that.�

I don�t understand his unshakeable faith in us. I would love nothing more than to be positive about anything. I know that we love each other, and I know that we get better together the more time goes by.

But is that enough? What is enough?

What is the thing that keeps people together?

Before and After

Index - Older - Profile - Notes - Diaryland

[I believe in a thing called love]