I am sometimes a handful.

I acted completely ridiculous on Saturday, and not in a good way. TL and I were having a lovely night � we�d planned on spending the night out on the patio. We ordered pizza, went to the package store, bought ice, brought out a cooler, got the dog all settled in the yard, got ready to start a fire. And then it started pouring. We laughed, ate some pizza and finished our drinks under the protection of our surprisingly efficient patio umbrella. We packed everything up and went back inside, soaking wet and laughing.

And then I got drunk, in a good way, for several hours. �Shoving TL against furniture and kissing him like we just met� good. And then somehow, in a conversation I don�t even want to repeat because I can�t believe I got so devastated over such a simple, stupid statement, I started crying. Hysterically crying, ranting about love and music and writing, telling him that all of my best writing is behind me because he doesn�t make me miserable, at one point sobbing because he doesn�t like Lauryn Hill(?). I still cannot understand what came over me. I was a wreck, and he very kindly kept telling me I needed to sleep this off, which I took as being dismissive and insulting.

Luckily I never became mean, I was just very drunk and very needy and very much a basketcase.

Then as with all hysterical drunk crying, I had the hiccups for about 30 minutes, and once they stopped, I tried to sleep but was unable to escape the spins. Eventually I excused myself to vomit.

In the morning my eyes were practically swollen shut from crying � I hadn�t woken up like that since Manhattanville. The first thing I said to him was, �Sorry for being a sloppy drunk emotional mess.� I thought he was going to be mad at me, but he was just like, �Oh it�s fine, we just had a misunderstanding, I think you�ve seen me at worse than that, tra la la.�

I told him how embarrassed I was and he was genuinely shocked that I would feel the need to be embarrassed for acting absurd in front of him.

After 4.5 years I still find it surprising that anyone could love me when I�m that ridiculous. That he could listen to me rant and cry and understand that I was having a bad night, instead of deciding that I�m more than he bargained for. I think it�s one thing to think we�re worthy of love in theory, but quite another to actually see it put into practice. I don�t think I�ll ever stop being surprised.

Before and After

Index - Older - Profile - Notes - Diaryland

[I believe in a thing called love]