Call them up, tell them about the new trends.

A friend from high school has been playing at an open mic night in my town and TL and I meant to go last week, but it was late and we were tired and blah blah.

This week TL had band practice. And I decided that I was going to go to the open mic alone, despite not being positive that my friend would even be there. I've never been to a bar alone and it was uncomfortable at best. I walked in compulsively adjusting my clothes and hair, I all but screamed "BEER" in the bartender's face before standing awkwardly next to the chair because I hadn't planned anything past beer. Was I going to sit at the bar? Sit at a table? Walk around looking for acquaintances? It was all very suspenseful. I eventually sat at the bar, text TL "I'm being super awkward" and prayed no one would talk to me. Soon after I saw my friend from across the bar and breathed the biggest sigh of relief.

The open mic was entertaining. The participants consist entirely of two of my former classmates, and an older gentleman aptly named Banjo Dan.

TL dropped by after practice and met everyone. He brought a guitar with him and sang about 5 songs, and impressed the hell out of everyone. It was such a nice fusion of my past and future. It was nice to hear a friend from high school rave about my fianc�. I was proud of him for being talented, and I was proud of myself for stepping outside of my comfort zone.

Before and After

Index - Older - Profile - Notes - Diaryland

[I believe in a thing called love]