The history books forgot about us.

I don't know how to talk to you anymore and that makes me so sad.

Today is the anniversary of your dad's death and I don't know what to say. I kept my distance when he died; I told you I would be there for you day or night if you needed me, and I meant it. But when you didn't reach out, I left it at that. I didn't want to insert myself into your life. You have a girlfriend of many years and I certainly didn't want to cross any boundaries or step on any toes.

Today you're sad and I don't know what to say. I'm so scared of saying the wrong thing, and text messages are a horrible way to communicate.

I never used to be afraid of what to say to you, because we were best friends. Today I'm realizing that we aren't best friends anymore. You are my adolescence. You are everything that made me feel as a teenager, you are secret conversations, you are late night phone calls. You are quiet admissions and shouted declarations. You are laughing till it hurt and crying in a cold car, you are heartache and comfort.

But we're well into adulthood, and we're so far from all of that. Memories of you are so important to me and every single one is cherished, even the painful ones.

But today I don't know what to say to you.

Before and After

Index - Older - Profile - Notes - Diaryland

[I believe in a thing called love]