quad jam.

the dominican. i can't....i think i had a heart attack. i had heart failure. i'm still in shock. so, we are not a mainstream thing. we hide places.

in public, we act like old pals. aside from the fact that, being hispanic, he hugs and kisses everyone on the cheek, except for me. i clearly have the plague, which only allows him to talk to me in public. tug on my clothes, sometimes. or play with my hands, depending on who's paying attention.

so elle and i are excitedly making our way to the front of the crowd to wait for lifehouse, strategically going around everyone, and then cutting through. on the edge of the crowd i see q, watching the fireworks. i poke him in the side and he smiles, real genuine. the way people smile when they're truly happy to see you. he says, "hey!" and i said hey back. he puts his arm around my waist and pulls me closer and i think, "finally, he's going to treat me like everyone else and kiss me on the cheek, as is custom in hispanic culture among friends and acquaintances."

he pulled me in fast, naturally, and kissed me till i was literally breathless. and then just as quickly let me go. and i went into shock. my mouth is hanging open and i'm pointing at him, and he just goes back to watching fire works like i wasn't there. and elle's trying to pull me away, and i'm just open mouthed and pointing and he's not noticing.

she finally dragged me a distance, and she's like, "what the fuck was that?" and i just pointed to my still open mouth. and she said, "oh. he kissed you?" and i managed to nod. and she went about her merry way and i started thinking, really thinking, now. and i said, "........IN PUBLIC?" and elle laughed. and i said, ".....IN PUBLIC! IN PUBLIC?"

she's offering excuses, oh he was drunk. oh this and that and i yelled, "DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY TIMES I'VE SEEN HIM DRUNK! HE'S DOMINICAN! DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY TIMES HE'S DONE SOMETHING LIKE THIS? ONCE. AND NOW I'M GOING TO DIE" she's real casual, i'm having the fit of my life.

for the rest of the night, we'd all be talking and i'd get quiet and finally exclaim, "IN PUBLIC!" or "IN PUBLIC?"

later i text him to see if he was going to the after party, because seriously, in public. something had to be done. he didn't answer. an hour later i saw him in the hall and he gave me this DEATH LOOK and went down the stairs without speaking to any of us.

probably for the rest of my life or semester, i'll appreciate the way he's as psychotic as i can be.

Before and After

Index - Older - Profile - Notes - Diaryland

[I believe in a thing called love]