I need a nap.

On Friday he was drunk and I was sober. We talked about our relationship and he told me he loves me and I'm his best friend but we should probably just be friends because we aren't really compatible as a couple. I agreed. We had the most pleasant discussion about it.

I brought it up while he was sober and he said he was joking. Le sigh.

Has anyone ever broken up like that after 6.5 years, I wonder? Just casual pleasantries and a parting of ways. "Hello I love you and think you're wonderful, but can we just be friends?"

Unrelated, we brought his mom to the hospital this weekend because we thought she had the flu. She wasn't really eating, and by Saturday she was very weak. They confirmed she had the flu, which turned into pneumonia. The next day they got her blood work back and discovered she'd also had a heart attack. She had no idea.

I can tell we're starting all over on the path to fighting with his sisters. As much as I feel they need to be held accountable for being shitty offspring, since this has turned into a serious matter, I'd rather not even have to deal with it. I don't want him to get into fights with them, because that is exhausting. I don't have the energy to take care of her physically, him emotionally, plus deal with the repercussions of everyone's nonexistent communication skills.

Before and After

Index - Older - Profile - Notes - Diaryland

[I believe in a thing called love]