A proposal.

I'm officially engaged. Feels weird to say, though I'm surprised at how easily I've been telling everyone. Oh hi, I'm a functional adult and now engaged to be married. I'm very normal and well adjusted.

TL wasn't happy with the proposal. I thought it was perfect, hilarious and genuine.

Our hotel in Salem had a wonderful patio area, with fire pits in the tables. The first night was quiet, peaceful.�

He planned to propose there the next night because he thought it would be romantic. But the next night there was a wedding at the hotel so the patio was full of rowdy drunks yelling about baseball.

We struck up a conversation with a 60 year old man about the absurdity of not being allowed to smoke on the patio (Seriously, it's OUTSIDE). We talked music and relationships and kept getting yelled at about smoking. We would feign surprise each time. "Oh, I CAN'T smoke here? Oh I didn't know! So sorry!"

While our new friend went to get himself another drink, TL said that he wished the night was more romantic, held out the engagement ring and asked, "But will you marry me?" When our friend got back we told him that we just got engaged and he took a picture of us.�

Somehow our conversation quickly turned to his heroin addicted daughter currently in rehab for the third time. He cried and squeezed my arm while we tried to comfort him.�

TL was disappointed that the night wasn't romantic, and that it was spent with a crying stranger. But we aren't romantic people. And we both attract strangers who do things like open up to us about their daughters in rehab. It was so typical and perfect. �

Eventually the wedding guests caught word of our engagement and I was bombarded with handshakes and hugs and "You just got engaged?? Right here?? Just now??" and "You guys should get married here! We just came from THE BEST wedding here!"

It was funny and weird, and it suited us perfectly.

Before and After

Index - Older - Profile - Notes - Diaryland

[I believe in a thing called love]