27th Birthday and an Identity Crisis

Months ago I saw that Taking Back Sunday and Dashboard Confessional would be playing on my birthday. I bought myself a General Admission ticket. I decided, at that moment, that I would either find someone other than TL to go with, or I would go alone. I didn't want TL to come. We have a good time at concerts together most of the time. However, after two shitty events I learned: 1) He is not always a good sport about seeing bands he doesn't like; 2) He does not like concerts that are on weekdays; and 3) He does not like General Admission.

This concert was on a weekday, bands he doesn't know/like, and General Admission. So I told him explicitly that he was not invited. We laughed about it, and talked about my plans to find someone to go with. I posted on social media. I asked friends. I joined tastebuds.fm and Bumble BFF. I didn't find anyone who wanted to go.

But I became so fine with it that I was actually looking forward to going alone. I am so lacking any sense of self, any sense of identity, any semblance of independence. I wanted to do this for myself. I've missed out on a lot of things because I didn't want to do something alone. When I was younger, it was because I was always attached at the hip to certain friends. Now, it's TL. If I want to do something, I need to do it for myself, with or without company.

As the date approached, I told TL I was going alone and he insisted he was going because I shouldn't be alone on my birthday. I referenced the last two times he went with me to see bands he didn't like in GA on a weekday, in which he acted like a miserable asshole the whole night. He said he feels it's only fair that I have a "three strikes and you're out" policy. I told him two was more than enough and I was not going to risk him being a dick all night. We laughed and joked about it, he said he would be on his best behavior. I told him I was going alone and we left it at that.

I was excited. I bought a new outfit for the occasion. I was so excited to just be myself, to do something for myself.

On my birthday, I was at work and I got a text from my cousin, "TBS tonight? I'd love to go!"
I wanted to do this for myself. I wanted to do something I wanted to do, alone. I said I wanted to go alone and he asked my cousin to go with me. Does that even require any explanation or analysis? Isn't that it? Isn't that every fucking thing?

When I got home from work I said, "I know you meant well and I know you did it out of love, but I am not okay with what you did. I said I wanted to go alone and you should have respected that. I don't know exactly what was said, but I'm embarrassed that you would meddle in my business and ask someone to go somewhere with me. I know you meant well. But I'm not okay with it."

He apologized, reiterated he didn't want me to be alone on my birthday.

When I was getting ready I second guessed everything. My make-up, the outfit I'd been excited to wear for 2 weeks. I changed everything. As I got ready I felt my identity being replaced with someone else's reflection. I wanted to be myself, but instead I was just what I always am, a version of myself, a partial reflection of whoever is nearest, desperately trying to match my surroundings. I felt it happen and it made me so sad I didn't want to leave the house.

I left. Later he sent me a long text apologizing some more.

My cousin and I had fun. The concert was great. It was nice to actually go somewhere together, because I don't remember the last time we did that. TL asked why I didn't ask her in the first place and I had to remind him that one of our bad concert experiences was because she was supposed to go with me, but bailed at the last minute, so TL went instead. I love her, but she has been flakey more often than not these last few years. I am always happy to hang out, but I can't rely on plans I make with her.

TL and I went out for drinks the next day and he apologized again. I explained to him how many things I've missed out on due to being too tied to the people in my life, and how I need to be comfortable doing things alone. I told him this felt like a chance to reassert my identity and to start doing things for myself, but he took that choice away from me. He was apologetic and seemed to understand.
Before and After

Index - Older - Profile - Notes - Diaryland

[I believe in a thing called love]